Geometric response to audio. Real time. Grasshopper : Version 1

This is an attempt to program geometric manipulations based on feedback from audio in real time. Been curious since some time now, about the ability to “attach” a physical connotation to audio [like music for instance]. As part of this experiment, the first stage was an attempt to script a simple visualization in VVVV that responds to audio played back on the computer.

Audio input is analysed using the Fast Fourier Transform algorithm within VVVV [fft node]. Audio frequency scales up the height of boxes. ‘Low mid out’ value scales the boxes along the base plane. ‘High mid out‘ value is responsible for the color change and finally the ‘high out‘ value controls the rotation of the boxes about the vertical axis.

Audio played back is by the artist Zero and the song’s called PSP 12′.

more about “Realtime response to audio“, posted with vodpod

The next stage in this process was to stream the frequency values from VVVV into a text file that is being updated continuously in real time. This text file was further read inside grasshopper using a ‘Read File‘ component. These values are then utilized to manipulate the height of boxes inside rhino in real time. Currently, the test was attempted under simple conditions involving just the height of boxes. There seems to be a major jump in the processing power absorbed by rhino while attempting to update changes in real time. The setup seems to be clunky and slightly less responsive in updating the heights continuously.

more about “Realtime audio response in Grasshopper“, posted with vodpod

The second artist performing here apart from Zero is Darude and piece is called “Sandstorm”.

All attempts so far have been directed towards studying responses in real time. However, it might be feasible to “record” audio input response on geometry as a static exercise, which would mean the possibility of attaching a physical connotation “form” to audio signals . It is quite early at this point of time to speculate whether this could have any architectural implications. However, what is definitely feasible (and this currently is already being implemented) is the development of an interactive response to audio signals in the real world.

~ by Karthik Dondeti on January 10, 2010.

30 Responses to “Geometric response to audio. Real time. Grasshopper : Version 1”

  1. Great stuff, love it!

  2. Hi!

    I’m architecture student from Spain and I’ve found ypur blog searching some code examples to achieve some audio-to-form solutions. I use grasshopper and rhinoscript. It would be great if you could share with me some basic definitions (vvvv and GH) to stream data between audio files, txt files, and grasshopper interface.

    Thanks for share your amazing work :) And sorry for my english “butchering”.

    Best Regards.

  3. Sure. I could send the stuff across in the weekend. In the meantime, you should also check http://nielswouters.be/3d-geluid/ for further work but using processing. Drop me an email : kdondeti@gsd.harvard.edu

    Best,
    Karthik.

  4. amazing work! I just sent you an email as well. I’m also currently working on a thesis project and part of it is about using sound data to inform the aesthetics and structure of designed pieces.

  5. oh..i just saw that you’re linked to scripted by purpose….i was the DJ at that show here in Philadelphia..great exhibit and opening.

  6. hello.
    nice work. could you share it?

  7. Fantastic work. I’m working on a similar project to model a song, using an existing Wav file, with grasshopper. I was wondering If I could get some more details about how you created the original vvvv visualization and then how you later converted it to grasshopper. Any help you could give me would really be amazing.

  8. Shoot me an email at karthik.dondeti@gmail.com. I would be glad to help any which way I can :)

  9. this is amazing. when i got introduced to the world of sound and architecture i had no idea what i’m going to face. your approach is great. I’m an interior design student in Toronto. And I would like to use your script for my thesis project. I will definitely mention your name in my work.
    it would be awesome if you could share it with me as well. i’ll shoot you an email regarding this :)
    thanks bunch
    geli

  10. hey,
    great work! I’m a architecture student in tasmania, currently involved in setting up a theatrical tool kit for the school of visual performance arts in my University. I would love to get more details on how you managed to get an real time audio to work with grasshopper. I would love to use the script to demonstrate the performativity of sound in terms of set and costume(form) using projection.

    It would be absolute fantastic if you could share this knowledge with us.

  11. Looks great,
    trying to do something similar with mapping movie scene conversations for architecture thesis. Could really use some help with the vvvv end if you have time.
    Thanks,
    Matt

  12. [...] Geometric response to audio. Real time. Grasshopper : Version 1 « ….yet another script?. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Uncategorized by charlottehaughton. Bookmark the permalink. [...]

  13. could you send me script?

  14. I am student at University of Washington. I thought your example was great. May you send me of the VVV and ghx script?

    Thanks

  15. Hi I am a student at University of Cincinnati, I wanted to apply and manipulate this script for one of my projects coming up that focuses on circulation space! Could you possible send the VVVV and gh script to me? It would be greatly appreciated!

  16. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run
    into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My website has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my agreement. Do you know any methods to help protect against content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

  17. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it,
    you can be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your
    blog and definitely will come back someday.

    I want to encourage yourself to continue your great writing, have
    a nice evening!

  18. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and
    i was just curious if you get a lot of spam feedback?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  19. Hi I am a student at University of los andes, I would like to manipulate this script for my project coming up that focuses on the creation of geometry by sound Could you possible send the VVVV and gh script to me?i need it asap!! cos my submission is on Monday and I just cant get what I am looking for, and I know your project would halp me a lo. i would greatly appreciate it!!!

  20. Hello,
    my name is tommi. Im studying architecture at the university of innsbruck. I wanted to ask you, if its possible for you to send me your vvvv and grasshopper setup? i am working on a project, that is inspired by audio. and i whould love to do some audio visualization in grashopper. i think your work could help me al lot. because thats almost the same im trying to do. It would be amazing, if you could help me. Greetings,
    tommi

  21. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog.

    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content from you in the
    future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities
    has encouraged me to get my own site now ;)

  22. This article will assist the internet users for building up new web site
    or even a blog from start to end.

  23. Hi there colleagues, how is all, and what you desire to
    say concerning this article, in my view its genuinely awesome designed for me.

  24. It’s wonderful that you are getting ideas from this article as well
    as from our discussion made at this place.

  25. continuously i used to read smaller content that
    as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this
    paragraph which I am reading now.

  26. I couldn’t resist commenting. Well written!

  27. I rarely comment, however after browsing a
    bunch of responses here Geometric response to audio. Real time.
    Grasshopper : Version 1 | ….yet another script?.
    I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it just me or does it look like some of these responses appear like
    they are left by brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are posting at additional social sites, I’d like to follow you.
    Could you post a list of every one of your public pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page
    or twitter feed?

  28. If you wish for to obtain a good deal from this post then you have to apply these methods
    to your won weblog.

  29. Your style is really unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.
    Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess
    I’ll just bookmark this page.

  30. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of hard work due to no back up.
    Do you have any solutions to protect against hackers?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

